Roundtop Mountain and the Cariboo Hudson mine
Placer mining has been carried out intermittently on Cunningham Creek and its tributaries since the 1860s Cariboo Gold Rush. The close association of placer gold with seams of detrital pyrite and the presence of quartz crystals with some of the nuggets indicated a nearby source. However, it was not until the 1920s that lode gold was discovered at the head of Pearce Creek. Short adits were driven to explore the gold-bearing Hudson vein. Full scale development did not commence until 1937 when Cariboo-Hudson Mines Ltd. acquired the property. The following year, 2440 metres of drifting and crosscutting was carried out on 6 levels, with most development on the 200 foot and 600 foot levels which were accessed from portals on the hillside.